About Us
News & Headlines

MAY 14, 2014

Top students recognized at Student Excellence Awards

Three Rivers College recognized over 50 of its highest-performing students at its Annual Student Excellence Awards ceremony on May 9. Winners were chosen to represent each academic department and career education program, the Three Rivers Centers, honor society students, and major student organizations.

"The Student Excellence Awards are a celebration not only of academic success, but of the hard work and diversity of our student body," said Dr. Devin Stephenson, President of Three Rivers College. "These students come from different backgrounds and different programs of study, but they are all united in their pursuit of leadership and excellence."

To be eligible to receive an Academic Excellence Award, a student must have completed at least 15 credit hours and have a 3.0 cumulative GPA. Winners from academic and career programs are chosen by that program's leadership based upon recommendations from individual faculty members. The leadership of each organization selects student organization, Center, and honor society award recipients.

Full list of 2014 Student Excellence Award winners:

Honor Societies
Honors Program Distinction: Sarah Khoan
Honors Program Distinction: Haley Ellison
Phi Theta Kappa: Megan Cook
Phi Theta Kappa: Dustin Chaney
Phi Theta Kappa: Debra Sells

Division of Academic Instruction
Art: Heather Mcmullin
Biological Sciences: Charles Gordon
Early Childhood Education: Ruth Zook
English: Antoinette Fernando
Foreign Language: Steven Moore
Government: Kenneth Grobe
History: Ashley Wood
Literature: Jennifer Carroll
Mathematics: Taylor Friend
Music: Henry Breitkopf
Philosophy: Jennifer Carroll
Physical Sciences: Jennifer West
Psychology: Kimberly Backfisch
Sociology: Kristen Harkey
Speech Communications: Whitney Welker
Teacher Education: Jennifer Bowling

Division of Career Education & Workforce Development
Accounting: Gale Bohannon
Administration of Justice: Danielle Cochran
Agriculture: Lariet Hollida
Business Administration: Sherry Briscoe
Business Management: Candice Pearson
Criminal Justice: Sierra Bradshaw
Diversified Technology - Hvac: Darryl Friday
Environmental/Occupational Safety & Health Technology: Wanda Schaffer
Forestry: Chelsea Maupin
Industrial Technology - Civil & Construction: Joshua Longhibler
Information Systems Technology - Medical Option: Mahurin
Medical Billing & Coding: Hammontree
Medical Laboratory Technology: Jill Jones
Network Administration: Alan Morris
Nursing - Day Program: Christina Wiggs
Nursing - Evening Program: Nicole Ray
Nursing - Sikeston Program: Tiffany Winter
Practical Nursing: Cristy Mitchell

Center Awards
Center at Dexter: Zachary Pounds
Center at Kennett: Pedro Moreno
Center at Malden: Bryan Forbes
Center at Sikeston: Heather Freeland

Student Success Awards
Achieve Tutor: Hannah Foster
Achieve Peer Mentor: Brianna Joplin
Gay-Straight Alliance: Dustin Chaney
National Association for Music Education: Casey Julian
Student Government Association: Jen Van-Es
Student Government Association/Student Life: Amber Adams
Student-Missouri State Teachers Association: Natasha Seal
Unity Gospel Choir: Cameron Triplett
Baseball: Jacob Nickelson
Women's Basketball: Marissa Webb
Three Rivers College Menu
About Us News & Headlines Admissions Current Students Academics ARC/Library Financial Aid Student Accounts Student Services Campus Life Faculty/Staff Directory Contact Us Tinnin Center President's Office Campus Safety Raiders Athletics